Zelda: Breath of the Wild Hype!

botw

March 3rd is almost upon us, and while for most that means a shiny new Nintendo Switch to be excited about, I think the biggest point of excitement is the game that will be accompanying it.

It’s been a long wait, Link.

You would think that with Breath of the Wild being in development since 2013, we would know so much more about it than we actually do. Nintendo really knows how to keep their mouths shut, and it’s getting me more and more intrigued every day.

Breath of the Wild has been said to drop the Zelda formula we’re used to for something more modern. A breathtaking open world to explore, more in-depth RPG elements, weapon durability, multiple horses, a living world filled with normal animals, a story that doesn’t hold your hand and lead the way.. This doesn’t sound like Zelda.. And yet, it also sounds like the Zelda games that I’ve always dreamed of. Even better than that though, it sounds immersive, like a world that I can make my own and explore to my hearts content. It’s exciting, confusing, scary, mysterious.. and I want to know absolutely everything that I can about it.

This isn’t the Zelda formula, and I think that’s why it’s shaping up to be the best game in the series. Don’t get me wrong, I adore the typical formula and how far it’s gotten us. Wind Waker HD is a great example of just how effective that formula is. I think it was time for a change though, something to throw us off of our feet, throw expectations into the air and explore a brand-new world with open eyes. That’s why it’s gotten so popular, it was so unexpected out of a series like this, something we’ve grown to love and know what to expect out of each release. Nintendo loves surprises though, and this has certainly been their best one yet.

So much of the game is still a mystery to us, and that’s an amazing feat to have pulled off. We’ve got just over a week to go until release, and that wait has been getting more and more difficult for me.

The Legend of Zelda: Breath of the Wild launches on Nintendo Switch and ¬†Nintendo Wii U on March 3rd, 2017. I’ll be covering the new game upon release with a set of daily dairy posts. Feel free to join me on my adventures through this brand-new world!

Leave a Reply

